Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum was introduced in all ACT schools in 2012, and has replaced "Every Chance To Learn" which was the previous  ACT curriculum. The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) created the curriculum, with input from leading Australian education experts.

What are the benefits?

This is an exciting time because an Australian Curriculum gives teachers and students more consistent standards in all schools nationwide, and an updated, contemporary 21st century curriculum.

It sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all students. It also identifies what all young people should learn as they progress through school, and is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.

This means young people across Australia will have a consistent curriculum regardless of where they live in the country.

What is taught as part of the Australian Curriculum?
Core learning

The Australian Curriculum includes English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography. In addition to these four learning areas, schools still have the flexibility to offer a range of other subjects. This allows schools to tailor educational programs to meet the learning needs of their students.

For more information about what is taught at each year level, visit the Australian Curriculum website at Helpful tips and resources for parents and carers to support
their child's education can be found at